Daily Archives: June 30, 2010

“I’ll get my quote”: Managing their reputation, by Professor Mark Griffiths

Much was made of England manager Fabio Capello’s quote about John Terry’s “big mistake” in talking to the media before he had talked to the manager about what was going on in the England camp behind closed doors. The “big mistake” quote garnered acres of news coverage yet the quote itself was underwhelming and not particularly memorable (to say the least). Anyway, it did get me wondering about which managers’ quotes will stand the test of time. Here are some of my favourites. Some managers could have had a whole column to themselves (Clough, Mourinho, Keegan and Venables spring to mind) but here, the managers only get a ‘one quote’ quota. Hope you like my selection.

  • “Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don’t like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that” (Bill Shankly)
  • “I wouldn’t say I was the best manager but I was in the top one” (Brian Clough)
  • “If history is going to repeat itself I should think we can expect the same thing again” (Terry Venables)
  • “If we played like this every week, we wouldn’t be so inconsistent!” (Brian Robson)
  • “I’m not a believer in luck… but I do believe you need it!” (Alan Ball)

  • “When an Italian says it’s pasta I check under the sauce to make sure. They are innovators of the smokescreen” (Sir Alex Ferguson)
  • “Some of these players never dreamed they would be playing in a Cup Final at Wembley, and now here they are fulfilling those dreams” (Lawrie McMenemy)
  • “I don’t read the papers, I don’t gamble, I don’t even know what day it is!” (Steve McClaren)
  • “England have the best fans in the world and Scotland’s fans are second to none” (Kevin Keegan)
  • “I got a fantastic reception from the crowd here at Upton Park – and why shouldn’t I? Now I’m looking forward to getting one off the wife. Reception I mean. I’m too old for all that kind of stuff” (Harry Redknapp)
  • “Playing with wingers is more effective against European sides like Brazil than English sides like Wales” (Ron Greenwood)
  • “We have top players and, sorry if I’m arrogant, we have a top manager” (Jose Mourinho)
  • I suppose that [the referee] was at least consistent. He was bad all night!” (George Graham)
  • “The Brazilians aren’t as good as they used to be, or as they are now” (Kenny Dalglish)
  • “If I walked on water, my accusers would say it is because I can’t swim” (Bertie Vogts)

Many of these still bring a smile to my face – no matter how many times I hear them. How long before Fabio makes my Top 15 Manager’s quotes?

Professor Mark Griffiths, psychologist, Nottingham Trent University

To speak to Professor Griffiths, call the University Press Office directly on 0115 848 8782 or email worldcup@ntu.ac.uk

[To view Nottingham Trent University’s team of World Cup experts go to www.ntu.ac.uk/worldcup]

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture & society